Family Adventure

We went to a park this afternoon, it is part of the civil war trail. We enjoyed the wooded area and discovered a new path that we didn’t realized that exsisted. Discovering this path was pretty exciting for me since it lead to a bridge that I kept seeing from the road. When we would drive by it I would say…”I really want to walk on that bridge.” We have lived here for almost 18 months and I finally got to walk across the bridge.
Bridge

We explored the park.  We found a few birds nest, we seen the foam on the water, many pinecones, mushrooms on fallen trees, twisted vines, a few ducks.  There was a balance beam and a hill to run up.  Big sister even came back down to help her little sister get up.  The hill was a little slippery since it was covered with pine needles.

DAD and girls

Steps

    Lady bugPinecone

I swear is looks like the vine to the left of the pine cones spells LOVE and a little vine heart to the left of that.

I swear is looks like the vine to the left of the pine cones spells LOVE and a little vine heart to the left of that.

woodwooden post

foamy water and twisted branches

foamy water and twisted branches

                         

My daughter seen a stump and asked if she could sit on it.  I told her that was fine and Daddy and sissy joined.  I suggested they count the rings since the tree was huge.  My daughter didn’t want to count but my hubby started counting.  There was a huge rotten spot in the center of the tree so he started counting a few inches from the hole.  He counted 129 rings… minus the huge area that couldn’t be counted.  We are guessing it was around 150 years old.  I am thinking that it was a little sapling during the Civil War.  Neat!

Counting tree rings

Counting the 129 rings… plus there is the huge rotten spot. 150 year old tree stump

 We walked on a little island and see a few fisherman in kayaks.  I love the reflections on the water and the post being beaten by the tide.

kayak fisherman

tree reflection

We spent a few hours there and the sun was starting to set.  Time to call it a day.  The sky was beautiful.

boat dock sunset

Sunset Chesapeake water way

Sunset Chesapeake water way

Quote of the day:

I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in. ~George Washington Carver

1000 Gifts {Day 5}

Something you’re reading, making, seeing

  1. Thing Good Things
  2. Memories with family
  3. God’s masterpiece… Nature
Leave a Reply

